Received via email

from a client who I helped way back in 1991-1994.  She’s kept in touch all these years.  Brought a tear to my eyes…

 “Tomorrow morning,” the  surgeon began,
 “I’ll open up your  heart…”
 “You’ll find Jesus there,”  the boy interrupted… The surgeon 
looked up, annoyed “I’ll cut your heart  open,” he continued,
 to see how much damage  has been done…” 

“But when you open up my heart, you’ll find Jesus in  there,” said the boy.
The surgeon  looked to the parents, who sat quietly. “When 
I see how much damage has been done, I’ll sew  your
 heart and chest back up, and I’ll  plan what to do next.”
 
“But you’ll  find Jesus in my heart. The Bible says He  lives there. The
 hymns all say He lives  there. You’ll find Him in my  heart.”
The surgeon had had enough. “I’ll  tell you what I’ll find in your 
heart. I’ll find damaged muscle, low  blood supply, and weakened vessels.
 And  I’ll find out if I can make you  well.”
  “You’ll find Jesus there too. He  lives there.”

 The surgeon  left. The surgeon sat in his office,  recording his notes from the 
surgery, “….damaged aorta, damaged pulmonary vein, widespread muscle
 degeneration. No  hope for transplant, no hope for cure. 
Therapy: painkillers and bed rest.  Prognosis: here he paused, “death within one  year.”

 He stopped the recorder, but  there was more to be said. “Why?” he asked  aloud. “Why did You do this? You’ve  put him here; You’ve put him in this pain;  and You’ve cursed him to an early death. 
Why?”
  The Lord answered and said, “The  boy, my lamb, was not meant for your flock 
for long, for he is a part of My flock, and  will forever be.Here, in My flock, he will 
feel no pain, and will be comforted as  you cannot imagine.
 His parents will  one day join him here, and they will know  peace, and My flock will continue to 
grow..”
 
The surgeon’s tears were hot, but  hisanger was hotter. “You created  that boy, and You created that heart. 
He’ll be dead in months. Why?”
 
The  Lord answered, “The boy, My lamb, shall return to My flock, for He has done his duty: I did not put My lamb with your flock to lose  him, but to retrieve another lost lamb.”
 The  surgeon wept…  The  surgeon sat beside the boy’s bed; the  boy’s parents sat across from him. The boy 
awoke and whispered, “Did you cut
 open my  heart?” “Yes,” said the surgeon.
 “What  did you find?” asked the boy.
 “I found  Jesus there,” said thesurgeon.
 Author  Unknown – 

3 responses to “Received via email

  1. Some call such stories glurge. It is strange that such stories annoy some people and inspire others.

    Is this specific story is true? Who knows? The tale has circulated and circulated. Yet there are many who suffer — all of us to some extent. Our attitude makes a difference both to us and those around us, and the Bible says as much. John 9

  2. Glurge? Learn something new every day…

  3. This was a lovely story. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

