A practical difference between liberals and conservatives

My next door neighbor just bought a brand new Porsche. My wife delivered the news.  My reaction?  “Great!”  He’s 1/2 of a D.I.N.K. household.  I figure he’s earned it, and I meant it! “Great!”

I’m not jealous.  I don’t think that we should raise his taxes, as he obviously must have too much disposable income.  I’m not sorry he didn’t “Buy American.”  I am genuinely happy for him.  I don’t think of all the U.A.W. s who did not get a piece of his hard-earned money.  I don’t think about the trade deficit. I don’t begrudge him for not buying a Prius, Made in America, or some other do-gooder vehicle that gets seventy miles per gallon.  Great for him. 

I don’t want to run his life. I don’t want to tell him what to do.  I don’t want to tax him to death.  I’m not jealous or sorry that he bought his new car.  All I can think is “Great! Great for him.” 

And that, dear readers, is another reason why I am a conservative, and not a liberal.

John Doe

Leave a Reply

