Best Book Review, Ever

If you haven’t yet, this time really do read the whole thing.  Really.

Leon H. Wolf reviews Meaghan McCain’s Dirty Sexy Politics.  I will say my reading of Ms. McCain’s previous, er, works had me to believe that her book did not hold much promise.  However, I can only stand in awe as Mr. Wolf does his job.  A couple of clips:

It is impossible to read Dirty, Sexy Politics and come away with the impression that you have read anything other than the completely unedited ramblings of an idiot.  This being a professional website for which I have a great deal of respect, I searched for a more eloquent or gentle way to accurately phrase the previous sentence – but could not find one.

(pause to wipe coffee off monitor…)

Were this a book from any other author, I might at this point be lamenting the fact that the author had an important message that would sadly be lost due to her horrible communication skills. Not so with Meghan McCain. Meghan’s primary goal in writing Dirty, Sexy Politics appears to have been to show off her encyclopedic knowledge of who was wearing what clothes on what occasion. From all appearances, it is physically impossible for Meghan McCain to describe a given scene or occurrence without describing in detail what everyone in the room was wearing (and how their hair was done), most especially including herself. I stopped counting the number of times she informed me that she was wearing UGG boots on a given occasion at five. Dirty, Sexy Politics is 194 pages long; if you removed the descriptions of outfits and hairstyles so-and-so wore when such-and-such was going on, I doubt it would have scraped 120 pages.  I wish I could say the preceding sentence was gross hyperbole, but if you have made it this far in this review, you deserve the truth: it isn’t.

A review that will live on as long as some form of English is still read by our distant ancestors.

One response to “Best Book Review, Ever

  1. DAYAM…All I can say is…Holy Shit!!! Hope Mr. Wolf never reads my scribblings.😉

Leave a Reply

