Who is your favorite politician?

So I was reading “The Classic Liberal” and got to thinking, I need a simpler method of sorting out people’s politics. The Classic liberal uses terms with which I am unfamiliar. I’m just a simple guy, I’m not a scholar of arcane history or of politics of the past.  I leave that to guys like Bob Belvedere and the theCL.  I don’t know what “classic liberalism” or “The Old Right.”  I’m vaguely familiar with the fact that there are different types of “conservatives” (neo-cons, paleocons, etc.), and I can smell a RINO or a liberal from 1,000 paces. 

It’s the various labels that stump me. I like things simple. When I studied for the bar examination, I made an outline of the BarBri book.  Then I made an outline of the outline. Then an outline of that outline until my final notes for all that I learned in three years of law school were condensed down to three pages.  K.I.S.S.

So, who is your “favorite” politician, or the one that comes closest to your ideal?  Or the ones.  No fair going back past my adulthood, but do it if you must.  For example, saying that you adored the methods of JFK or LBJ would help me to classify you, but saying you are a huge fan of Robert Taft or Warren Harding won’t help me any.  Saying you are a RonPaulite says something about you that everybody, even simple ole me, can comprehend.

Why? Because I can!

I’ll start things off. I’m a huge fan of Chris Christie from everything I’ve seen and heard from him (at least regarding fiscal policy).  I’m a big believer in Ronald Reagan, the early years.   I admire the way that Jim DeMint stands up to GOP Establishment.  I’m a DittoHead.  See? That says a lot about me, so that even if you did not know anything else about me, you can start to get a handle about what I am about.

This isn’t to start a debate about who is right and who is wrong, it is just a start to understand where some of my readers are coming from. 

John Doe

27 responses to “Who is your favorite politician?

  1. I am also a big Christie fan, not only because of his fiscal restraint, but even more because of his candor. I have worked for good conservatives who usually did the right thing, but they would parse every damn word in public to see if it might “offend” anyone, even those who hated them and would never vote for them under any circumstances. Christie has said some of things that I thought were “third rail” and gotten the majority behind him. We need a President who says, “As a nation we are dead, flat fucking broke. Now let’s do what it takes to save the ship.”

    I also like Rep. Paul Ryan a lot. Another truth teller.

  2. Your secrets are safe with me but anything that you and or GatorDoug would like to share about your personal life will gladly be put at the top of the blog (see for example About John Doe and About Lipton T. Bagg). Offer still goes for you, too, Mike.

  3. How would I go about that John?

  4. Oh yeah…Jim Demint. Am a fan of Ron Paul, too. Was a fan of Sarah Palin as well as Mark Sanford. But I felt that Palin sold out and Sanford stepped on his dick.

  5. I did the Word Press profile with things I am fine sharing. If that works, feel free to use it. Or if you like I’ll be happy to write a couple of paragraphs.

  6. How and where do I find the Word Press profile?

    Mike, my thoughts exactly. And oh, I didn’t hear about the guy resigning in NH. That makes my point. He is obscure, as is news of what he did.

  7. Done, see above

  8. Great. your addition was cool. Maybe I’ll post a photo or two.

  9. True, Darth, but it does not help shed any light on you. Give us some more info!

  10. Utah Congressman Jason Chaffetz this is the kind representative that needs to be elected all over this country.

  11. True, Darth, but it does not help shed any light on you. Give us some more info!

    It’s not s’posed to. I’m a Sith Lord, remember? I’m supposed to be mysterious. (grin)

    Ronaldus Magnus was a great president because, first & foremost, he was a great man. The cowboy persona wasn’t really a persona at all – it was the kind of man he was. His word was his bond, he took nothing off of anyone, and when he told you something, you believed it, because he believed it. He always thought the best of people, and wanted the best for them, and it was that kind of attitude that made people want to run through walls for him. He believed in a strong & prosperous America, where everyone could be successful, not just a select few.

    Greatest President in my short (47 years) lifetime. One of the, if not the, best ever. I miss the hell outta him.

  12. Lil Skippy Silver Spoon…?

    Where does the GOP come up with these characters…
    We must be prudent, prudent is important…!

  13. …and Paul Ryan, JD…?

    Glen is just plain nuts with no salt …

  14. With specific respect to a favorite politician[s]… it was August 14, 1935 that HR 7260, that the Social Security Act of 1935 passed into law…

    FDR: “If the Senate and the House of Representatives in this long and arduous session had done nothing more than pass this Security Bill, Social Security Act, the session would [will] be regarded as historic for all time.”

    There was one helluva fight that preceded it’s passage.

    What wonderful foresight those legislators and FDR had. It’s been making life easier for the majority of senior Americans for 75 years…

    I’m aware I’m a day late…that’s how it goes with us olde, grateful, geezers…!

  15. Social Security…yep, another one of those mandates our government is so famous for. Social Security as it stands now, is bankrupt. The money I’ve “invested” in it my entire working life won’t be there in 13 years when I need it.

    Some old sot who retired 10 years ago is spending my money.

  16. ”… The annual deficits will be made up by redeeming trust fund assets in amounts less than interest earnings through 2024, and then by redeeming trust fund assets until reserves are exhausted in 2037, at which point tax income would be sufficient to pay about 75 percent of scheduled benefits through 2084. The projected exhaustion date for the combined OASI and DI Trust Funds is unchanged from last year’s report…. http://www.ssa.gov/OACT/TRSUM/index.html

    The problem, of course, is that the government now owes the trust fund so much money — and relies on its surplus so heavily… [like sorry, damnable, despicable, war-fighting] — the real problems will be created when it comes time to cash in those IOUs. Uncle Sam is going to need to find another source of income to replace the surplus (or cut spending, or borrow money from somewhere else), plus come up with cash to pay the bonds it’s already issued…

    Such, of course; like it or not, is the case with all federal bonds
    There yah go…tmg!
    Feel better now…?

  17. Here are some additional, excellent, suggestions…

    “… -[Massive] cuts in [damn, despicable, sorry] military spending as this makes up half of U.S. discretionary spending and is filled with waste and bloat.

    -Cuts to corporate welfare, especially to the oil and gas industry which is scheduled to received billions in tax breaks despite massive profits

    -Tax the purchase of stocks, bonds and derivatives, areas where even a tiny micro tax could raise tens of billions annually.

    -Tax the estates of the wealthiest Americans, raising more than $10 billion annually.

    I’d hand ‘em all their hats and suggest they move rather, smartly; so as, the damn door didn’t hit ‘em the arse on their way out…!

  18. Side note: John Doe (J.D.) was my fraternity pledge name. How’s that for a piece of useless trivia? 😯

    Ron Paul, because: 1) he understands economics – warned of the housing bubble and even tried to pass legislation to stop way back in 2002; 2) wants to end the Fed; 3) pro-life, never compromises on the issue, and is the only politician with a detailed and workable plan to reverse roe v. wade; 4) he’s sincere – even if I disagree, I always know where he stands; 5) last of the genuine limited-government politicians; 6) he’s a virtual carbon-copy of “Mr. Republican” Robert A. Taft.

    For me … there’s no better guide or advice, regardless of issue, than history. Tradition is extremely important to me too. So I lean heavily on history. Supporting something my forefathers were adamantly against, would be to me, worse than pissing on their graves.

    I have as many knee-jerk opinions as anyone else, but eventually I need to think them through … unintended consequences? where did the idea come from? how did it enter American politics? tradition? etc …

    5 years ago I was as partisan (if not more) than any other “conservative,” but I always knew something was wrong, because it wasn’t helping reverse government growth or increase liberty. I lean on the Old Right and Taft (or Goldwater) in hopes of showing conservatives that YES, conservatives really did think this way too. I pick on neocons because philosophically and legislatively (in their own words and actions), they belong to the progressive movement, not the conservative, and should be dealt with accordingly.

    I’m always long-winded. I just wanted to add a few thoughts in hopes of developing a better understanding.

    • I’m definitely in Paul’s camp with respect to the ridicules “War on Drugs”…!

      Paul wants to cut federal funding for undercover drug investigations and drug treatment programs. Both are badly needed in Appalachia, a hotbed for marijuana growers and drug dealers selling prescription pills and methamphetamines. His Democratic opponent, Jack Conway, favors using federal money.

      You dah man, Rand…
      Power to those… that grow commerce and industry…!

  19. From the ‘John Doe Era’: Thaddeus McCotter, Ronald Raygun, John Derbyshire, Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, Mike Pence [tentative], Mark Steyn, Pope John Paul The Great.

    ‘Pre-John Dow Era’: Calvin Coolidge, John Adams, Samuel Adams, George Washington, Robert Taft, Benjamin Disraeli, Winston Churchill, George S. Patton, William T. Sherman.

  20. Sheesh! I almost forgot Jesse Helms. I don’t know if he was a racist–he was the right age–and if so I don’t condone that. But I loved how he would stick it to the liberals. He knew how to stand up to them and bottle them up in procedures.

    I note that many men mentioned by Bob are not politicians. It seems that every liberal who wants to change the world becomes a politician, but every conservative who really and truly does change the world avoids politics.

    I read Solzhenitsyn back in high school, 1975 (I say as I blow the dust off my old geezerness), A day in the life of Ivan Denisovitch. Perhaps that’s partially responsible for me being a conservative, as others were reading Jonathon Livingston Seagull and Love Story (ok, I read that last one, too).

  21. There are an awful lot more politicians that I don’t like than I do like. Most of those that I do like were all about respecting individual liberty and the limiting of government, with one very prominent exception.

    Favorite politicians from the current era: Ronald Reagan, George W Bush, Chris Cristie, Margaret Thatcher, Dick Cheney, Jan Brewer, Sarah Palin, Bobby Jindal, George Allen, Jim De Mint, Rick Santorum.

    From our storied past: John Adams, George Washington, Winston Churchill, Daniel Webster, Teddy Roosevelt, Robert Taft.

    The prominent exception: Abraham Lincoln.

  22. Hey, John Doe, what did this post have to do with the picture?

  23. Nick, NOT A DAMN THING! I just love the female body. Don’t YOU?!!!
    😉

Leave a Reply

