Day 3 of Trial

Worked all weekend.  Bed at 11:00 pm.  Up at 3 am.  Still not prepared.  Too much for one man.  Up against entire firm. Client’s dad bitches me out just before trial starts. I tell him to F off.  I start to lose my vision with onset of migraine about an hour in. Somehow, it never becomes full-blown headache.  Vision clears.  Trial goes like crap.  End of day, dad is fine, and says this was our best day yet–says all his family agrees.  I doubt. It. Judge has nose so far up defense lawyer’s ass that I am embarrassed for him. 

Argh. 

Vending machine crackers my only sustenance all day until 10:30 Wendy’s Bacon Double Cheeseburger and “Value Fries” [$2.18].  But at least my one beer just before retiring was ice-cold.

Worked til 11:30 pm last night.  Wake up call at 4:15 this a.m. 

John nearly beat Doe

p.s.  To LTB and Mike I leave my blog.  To my dear wife I leave the dog.  To my poker buddies I leave my lucky hat.  To Gramps I leave the last inch of the Cuervos Especial Gold that is sitting on the window ledge.  That’s about all I own.  Goodbye world.

12 responses to “Day 3 of Trial

  1. Vending machine crackers my only sustenance all day until 10:30 Wendy’s Bacon Double Cheeseburger and “Value Fries” [$2.18]. But at least my one beer just before retiring was ice-cold.

    Well, all that cholesterol will give you the energy to keep up the good fight. You’ll win in the end buddy.

  2. Oh yeah…I’d druther have the lucky hat and the last inch of Jose Cuervo if ya don’t mind.😉

    • Hey tmg…

      Did some arsehole, wag criticize…
      Yer bent arm hookin’ like hell …back swing…?

      Hehehe…
      I’ll catch up…
      I’m just gettin’ back….!

      • I set his arse straight Gramps, he he he. That was a drive of 240 yards straight down the middle. I pared that hole as a matter of fact.

        P.S. Did you get my e-mail gramps?

  3. Hey JD…

    Like I told yah earlier son…

    Many others have passed the same way, we all learn from the masters…

    Troubles are only mental; it is the mind that manufactures them, and the mind can gorge them, banish them, abolish them.
    – “Which Was It?”

    …drag your thoughts away from your troubles–by the ears, by the heels, or any other way, so you can manage it; it’s the healthiest thing a body can do.
    – The American Claimant

    Daddieo… sends all the very best…
    Keep on keepin’ on Trooper

  4. Boy, Gramps, you are soooo right. Lengthy trials are similar to football games. If somebody scores a touch down just before half time, it gets the other team down. Our team had a VERY bad day today. At the end, I was about to give up mentally. I took a nap, went over to my client’s house, heard her sobbing uncontrolably upstairs while I talked to her parents, and now am re-vitalized to re-double my efforts. All looks bleak now, but we will fight to the death…

  5. Hey JD…

    I could make some arsehole, olde, soldier’s comment like…

    It’s always darkest before the dawn

    But hell no… I wouldn’t do nothin’ like that…

  6. I’ve been up before dawn all week. That old saying is bull shit. It starts getting light before dawn……………………………………………😉

  7. I’d serve with yah, anywhere….Sir !

  8. Hey JD…
    This geezer is goin’ to gound, now…

    H&K’s…MFKER…

    May the good Lord luv, ya…!

  9. Beejeebus, JD…

    Win, lose or draw…it’s time to come out of hibernation…

    We could give a large, loose, sheet…

    Yah win some…yah lose some…and some yah draw, soldier…

    Get yer, sorry arse up, TROOPER…

    We luv yah…!

Leave a Reply

