Daily Archives: June 8, 2010

I’m So Stoned!..Update

Today is my wife’s birthday. Bless her heart, she’s 29 with several years experience. ;)  For her birthday today, I got her a nice flower arrangement and a visit to the hospital emergency room for me. Danged kidney stone again. And it was a cast-iron bitch. I felt like someone was stabbing me in the back and twisting the knife at the same time someone else was kicking me where I live, if ya catch my drift. After 10 mg’s of Morphine and 30 mg’s of Toredol at the hospital, I was feeling much better. Picked up my prescriptions and took some when we finally got home. One Percocet for pain and one Phenigren for nausea plus a Flomax to facilitate passing the stone, I hope.

So if I fall asleep, I hope you’ll excuse me……………………………………………..zzz

With help from my brother, we were trying to get some work done on the Wife’s little project, 16×20 building. I reckon I over extended myself. What with the heat and not drinking enough water, I had another attack. I’m talking stabbed in the back, kicked in the nuts, puking everything up but my nuts attack. I took a couple of my pain pills and had brother run me down to the VA hospital. They admitted me Fri. evening and finally let me out this afternoon. I’m black and blue from all the blood they took as well as feeling like a pin cushion what with all the morphine shots they gave me. I had C-T scan and ultrasound and they told me there’s a 90% chance I would pass it without surgery. I sure hope so, cause the alternative is a bitch, having been there and done that.

I will say this…I give kudos to the folks who work and volunteer at the VA hospitals. They do a thankless job and I for one am glad they do.

And now back to your regular scheduled programming.

thatmrgguy

Run off for S. Carolina Republic Governor

Nikki Haley almost pulled it off. She now has to go through a run off with Gresham Barrett. The democratic choice for governor, Vincent Sheehan, said if Nikki Haley won the republican nomination, that he would run his campaign on the issues. We shall see.

We’ve even had a racial slur component added to this campaign when a state representative said that ” We don’t need another “raghead” in government”. This was a pointed slur towards Nikki Haley and referenced Obama as the other one.

thatmrgguy

Amusing political cartoon. The folks who make these up are very creative.

thatmrgguy

H/T   http://thedaleygator.wordpress.com/

In Praise of Capitalism: How the ‘Social Justice’ Left Uses Economic Incentives to Create Academic Propaganda

These professors’ ties to the labor movement and the glorification of its struggles are indisputable – which is fine, being that their interests reside in that area. But it does lead to the question: Should these professors be allowed to use our higher education system to push their progressive political ideologies in the guise of disinterested academics?

I think most would answer simply: no. Our publicly funded schools should be institutions of unbiased research, not propaganda vehicles for a particular ideology — especially one with longstanding and well-documented ties to the Communist movement.

You got that right!!

Indeed, all colleges and universities are funded by tax dollars, whether public or private institutions. Public institutions receive 80% to 90% of their funding from public sources, according to Inside Higher Education. However, private institutions are not private in the same sense as private industry – they also receive substantial public funding, especially in research areas.

In addition to the federal gift that non-profit status brings in the form of no real estate taxes and no taxes on gains (including the billions in earnings on endowments), students who attend private institutions receive federally subsidized loans for college tuition, set at an arbitrarily high price. Additionally, private institutions receive billions (upon billions) in federal research grants from the Department of Defense, the Department of Energy, et al. Private and public universities exist because of public funding – they are both a public trust.

So colleges and universities with very large endowments like Harvard and Yale, just to name a couple, are receiving very large sums of money from taxpayers? What a scam! Keep the endowment money for other things like a large remodel of the university presidents house or an unneeded addition to a sports stadium. Oh hell, we can afford it. Lets build a championship golf course.

Our higher education system should be used as a battleground for competing ideas – not a fifth column for biased political talking points. Unbiased research must be its cornerstone; without valid, unbiased studies, our society cannot make grounded, well-founded decisions about public policy.

Entirely neutralizing bias in research is likely an impossible endeavor given the nature of the human mind. But an RFP of this nature, sent out from a group of educators – using publicly funded networks and the prestige of their schools – to students and faculty of publicly funded institutions, is an exercise in educational malpractice. It gives politically biased professors a rationale for a one-sided curriculum, and teaches students that it’s acceptable to infuse ideology into research.

My granddaughter is going to be starting college in 4 years. I would hope that she wasn’t going there at great expense to be propagandized. Reckon we’ll have to look for universities which try to be objective, although, she has her sights set on Princeton. I would opt for her second choice, The University of Texas. Yee Haw!!

This attempt to use our higher educational system “to give substance and scholarly integrity to this ‘crying wolf’ argument,” as stated in the RFP, is intellectual and moral subversion. The creation of this intellectual network within our school system is specifically for the purpose of constructing leftist policy “narratives.”

In a 2009 article that affixes the entire blame of the 2008 financial crisis on the failure of the free market system, Donald Cohen, sponsor of the Cry Wolf project, wrote that their network is in place to effectively push their reform policies:

Fortunately, the progressive intellectual infrastructure, more developed and more capable than even just a few years ago, is ready to drive a new New deal.

Do these prestigious institutions know that they have become part of the progressive labor movement’s “intellectual infrastructure” to create biased research? Let’s hope that if they are oblivious, they will take the appropriate action to be removed from this effort.

Stay tuned.

Please follow the ongoing “Cry Wolf” expose at Big Journalism.

This is a good reason why conservatives fight the progressive left tooth and nail about their version of  social justice.


In Praise of Capitalism: How the ‘Social Justice’ Left Uses Economic Incentives to Create Academic Propaganda.

Thatmrgguy

Bluesman Calvin Leavy Dead At 70

Ironic that he died in prison.

Obama to high school grads: ‘Don’t make excuses’

Don’t mimic Washington by making excuses, President Barack Obama advised graduating high school students on Monday night as he urged them to take responsibility for failure as well as success.

Hmmm…Isn’t this the same President who always comes out and blames George Bush for the failures of his,( Obama’s), administration? The same President who blames BP for his administration’s lack of oversight?

Guess this is one of those ” Do as I say, not as I do” moments.

Obama to high school grads: ‘Don’t make excuses’.

Cast My Vote, Did You?

Hope more people turn out than was there when I voted. In my precinct, there were more poll workers than voters.

Get out there and vote today if your state has a primary election today! Don’t vote?…Don’t bitch!

Day 3 of Trial

Worked all weekend.  Bed at 11:00 pm.  Up at 3 am.  Still not prepared.  Too much for one man.  Up against entire firm. Client’s dad bitches me out just before trial starts. I tell him to F off.  I start to lose my vision with onset of migraine about an hour in. Somehow, it never becomes full-blown headache.  Vision clears.  Trial goes like crap.  End of day, dad is fine, and says this was our best day yet–says all his family agrees.  I doubt. It. Judge has nose so far up defense lawyer’s ass that I am embarrassed for him. 

Argh. 

Vending machine crackers my only sustenance all day until 10:30 Wendy’s Bacon Double Cheeseburger and “Value Fries” [$2.18].  But at least my one beer just before retiring was ice-cold.

Worked til 11:30 pm last night.  Wake up call at 4:15 this a.m. 

John nearly beat Doe

p.s.  To LTB and Mike I leave my blog.  To my dear wife I leave the dog.  To my poker buddies I leave my lucky hat.  To Gramps I leave the last inch of the Cuervos Especial Gold that is sitting on the window ledge.  That’s about all I own.  Goodbye world.