Ernie Harwell died

R.I.P.  I grew up listening to him call the Detroit Tigers games in the 60s and 70s.  Nowadays, people watch baseball on high-def satellite T.V.   We listened to crackling a.m. radios while we played spin the dial (actually hit the spinner with your finger) baseball games and ate rice krispy treats.  I actually cared what the count was, who was at bat, and who was warming up in the bull pen.  Ernie could do that to you.   I did not know that I was listening to a legend back then, but in the intervening years I finally caught on.  Even after I lost my love of baseball during the strike of 19994, I never lost my admiration for your voice.  I’ll miss you Ernie. “The Tigers win it!”  

Leave a Reply

