1970 Greatest Hits

Kent State got me reminiscing about 1970.  I was about 13.  I had my first toke of weed (thanks a lot Sis), my first trip on acid, my first carnal knowledge of a young woman (okay, that could have been in early 1971–the exact timing is fuzzy, though the details aren’t).  This was the summer before I met Mike.  God, I thought I would live forever. 

I used to go see Bob Seger perform free concerts before he was a big hit.   [The pre-song interview is corny, but that’s definitely Bob Seger once they start rockin’]

And YES! I’ve gotten drunk off “Cracklin Rose” a few times, even before I knew the meaning behind Neil Diamond’s song.  [Do they still make that shit!?]

Lola. I didn’t like the song, but it was big, and my first inkling that there were freaks out there.  I know I listened to it while partying many a night…

I got the mumps in early winter, and lost my starting place as guard for my eighth grade basketball team.  Those days out of school, this song got etched forever in my brain…

I lost my first true love by listening to the “logic” of this terrible M’Fer song! 😉

This song could have been my motto for the entire year of 1970!

It’s freaking amazing how songs can bring back memories. Like smells that you haven’t smelled in decades. Like old Polaroids that you haven’t seen in eons.  Take some time and smell.  And listen.  Dawn, if you are out there, for the hundredth time, I’M SORRY!    Kathy was just a tramp who meant nothing to me…  Except that she was there. 😉

One response to “1970 Greatest Hits

  1. Lipton T. Bagg

    Damn, this is seriously the wayback machine…

    Illegal Stills – what an album…

    “Well, there’s a rose in a fisted glove
    And the eagle flies with the dove
    And if you can’t be with the one you love
    Love the one you’re with”

    If that was not a microcosm of the 70s, I don’t know what was…

    -LTB

Leave a Reply

