Fettuccine alfredo

I am the family cook.  I love it.  And it allows me to avoid doing dishes.  And I blog about my interests.  So here is my favorite recipe for fettuccine alfredo.  It’s so easy, and my family and I love it.  I believe I swiped it from the Richmond Times-Dispatch many moons ago.   I recommend drinking a nice Italian chianti while you cook it.  Or a cold beer will do.😉

Makes 6 servings.

  • 2 9-ounce packages fresh fettuccine pasta
  • ½ cup (1 stick) butter, cut into small pieces
  • 3¼ cups (about 8 ounces) grated Parmesan cheese
  • Ground black pepper, to taste

Heat the oven to 200°. Place a large oven-safe serving bowl in the oven to warm.

Bring a large saucepan of salted water to a boil. Add the pasta and cook according to package directions. When the pasta is finished, reserve ¾ cup of the cooking water, then drain the pasta.

Remove the bowl from the oven. Place the butter in the bowl, then add the pasta. Using tongs or 2 wooden spoons, toss the pasta, melting the butter and mixing it with the pasta.

A bit at a time, add the cheese and the reserved pasta cooking water, continuing to toss until all of the cheese is added and melted. Season with pepper.

Nutrients per serving: 640 calories, 36 grams protein, 46 grams carbohydrate, 35 grams fat (49 percent total calories), 135 milligrams cholesterol, 2 grams fiber, 1,106 milligrams sodium. — Recipe adapted from Issue 120 of Saveur magazine

22 responses to “Fettuccine alfredo

  1. We all gotta go someday, someway?

    Why not after a deliciously prepared, 35 grams of fat, and 1100 mg of salt, helluva heart attack in a bowl!

    I suggest two [possibly more] glasses of chianti as a counter balance for the fat and sodium…

  2. Lipton T. Bagg

    Yeah, but what a way to go! Now there’s something we can agree on in true bi-partisan nature…

    -LTB

  3. I am reminded of the immortal words of Barnes in Platoon: “Everybody gotta die someday, Red.”

  4. I can say, for sure and truly JD; eatin’ some of yer delicious Fettuccine alfredo would be entirely preferable to being gut shot in the jungle with no med evac!

    I can say, for sure and truly JD; eatin’ some of yer Fettuccine alfredo would be entirely preferable to being gut shot in the jungle with no med evac!

    In fact it would be preferable too bein’ in the bush under any circumstances; especially with some cold chianti. I drink mine cold, because I always by the cheap stuff and it tastes better that way.

    It’s always better to serve a red wine at a temperature that is too cool than too warm. You or your guests can always just warm the wine with your hands or simply wait a couple of minutes before drinking.~~Wiki Quotes

  5. Lipton T. Bagg

    Chianti by the box – another thing that makes America great!

    -LTB (Resident Beer and Wine Whore)

  6. Mon apologies gents…

    I had the first paragraph up there when she who must be obeyed had me lift my feet and move the laptop stand , so she could vacuum.

    Honestly, I’m not into the chianti, yet…!
    I’m just thinkin’ it might be Ruskie Wodka, this evening.

    BTW: It would be nice if the comment window was a little larger; that would give olde fools like me a better view of our foolishness, before we published.

  7. Lipton T. Bagg

    “..that would give olde fools like me a better view of our foolishness, before we published…”

    C’mon in Gramps! the Smash Mouth Curmudgeon Support Group is about to begin…

    -LTB (Resident Curmudgeon-in-training)

  8. Is Gramps growing on anybody else besides me? I wish I could buy him a round of that cheap shit he drinks, whatever it is. I might even break my long fast and smoke some of that shit he so obviously smokes…
    😉

  9. LTB, I’ve noted by yer avatars; both you and JD have some water on the horizon. JD appears to be navigating some man made channel, with low bush in the background. I’m guessin’ Chesapeake Bay, or perhaps farther south?

    You appear to “be at sea” [no pun intended] on a large body of water, either on a large bay or perhaps the Pacific Ocean? I’m guessin’ the west coast because of the late “time stamps” on yer early posts and yer “About LTB” link… that says so…hehehe…

    LTB…always remember this; it’s damn hard to kid a kidder…!

  10. Lipton T. Bagg

    Gramps:

    That pic is taken by Ms. T. Bagg (a most beautiful and talented woman BTW) on the pacific, as we sailed toward Puerta Valarta.

    I am on the West Coast – and have made reference to same in many posts.

    Yeah, I’d buy Gramps a round anytime. I may not prefer his politics – but I more prefer good people….

    LTB send his…..
    (Stealing someone’s byline…)

  11. Lipton T. Bagg

    And oh, BTW, I MAY have inhaled a time or two myself…

    -LTB (Who used to own SEVERAL bongs)

  12. Lipton T. Bagg

    John:

    Cold beer for the BBQ – Red wine for the Italian fare….

    Get your racism straight, boy!

  13. My ship is set sail on the great inland waterway known locally as “Lake Anna.” It is a third rate river that was damned up decades ago to act as a cooling pond for Virginia’s only [?] nuclear power plant, but now has become our 2nd or 3rd largest lake.

  14. ”Yeah, I’d buy Gramps a round anytime. I may not prefer his politics – but I more prefer good people….LTB send his…..
    (Stealing someone’s byline…)

    If you were like me LTB…[heaven forbid] You’d be sailin’ a cat or a instead of that stinkpot, 250 hpblue, belchin’, smoker, you and the cute babe are sailin’…

    Just sayin’…
    Still luv yah…!

  15. Cain…you gents tell?
    That Ruskie Wodka is kickin’ in?

  16. Lipton T. Bagg

    The ship I am aboard is the Carnival Splendor – largest sister in the Carnival fleet. Resplendent in her pink decor (trust me, it grows on you after a couple days) it’s a rather fine vessel.

    952 ft. long, 116 ft. at the beam and 113 tons – she’s quite a ship. Largest thing civilian I had ever been on.

    I used to own a Hobie, so I know a thing or two about Hobie Cats. I’ve traded Hobies for Harleys. These days I am a land lubber but perhaps in the future….

    -LTB

  17. Lipton T. Bagg

    I have some red Stolie in the freezer, does that count?

    -LTB

  18. LTB…

    Hobies’, are are fer bay watcher’s and lubbers

    I want me a 42 foot trimarine, with a pipe organ in the stern quarters…
    Mozart at sea…
    At sunset…
    7000 kilometers from land…!

    OK…

  19. I never “got” wodka. I prefer tequila over vodka, but I never could tell good tequila or Vodka from bad. I can only distinguish good beer and wine. Guess that means I have room for improvement.

  20. “Good” Tequila has the worm in the bottom of the bottle. The only thing I know about Vodka is you don’t usually get a headache the next morning unless you mix it with other hard spirits. DAMHIKT

  21. Lipton T. Bagg

    JD, when I get to VA next, I will give you a primer on Tequila. I’ll have you speaking Spanish (or some foreign language) in short order… 🙂

    -LTB

  22. Sounds like a good excuse for a road trip to me.

Leave a Reply

