The corrupting influence of welfare

Welfare King and Queen have eight children,  but she wants fourteen.   He quit working because the government pays him more to sit home unemployed.  And she adds: ‘I’ve always wanted a big family – no one can tell me how many kids I can have whether I’m working or not.’ ‘It cost too much to carry on working as we were actually better off unemployed,’ said Mr Davey.

It used to be that people were too proud to accept welfare.  There used to be shame attached to those who could not find a job or provide for themselves or their family.  Now? Just a matter of fact, that is  how the system works, and everybody take as much as they can and screw all the suckers who are unfortunate enough to have jobs and have to pay for all the others sitting on their asses making babies.

That welfare is a demotivator is not rocket science, or something that has been “discovered” recently.  Paul wrote to the Thessalonians a couple thousand years ago:  “For even when we were with you, we gave you this rule: ‘If a man will not work, he shall not eat.'”  2 Thessalonians 3:10 (N.I.V.)

7 responses to “The corrupting influence of welfare

  1. In case you didn’t notice, there’s a big list on the side there that says the majority of their income comes from income support, housing benefit, disability living allowance and carer’s allowance. That means that if one or both of them weren’t DISABLED, they’d be on £5,148 a year between the nine of them, or £11 per week per person. Funny how the Daily Mail failed to point that out. But then the Daily Mail is a notoriously bullshit-filled rag obsessed with shallow celebrity tattle and screaming blind panic about asylum seekers.

    Not that they should be having kids they can’t afford, but on the other hand the Davey family are a complete anomaly. In the UK there’s an unemployment rate of around 8%, or 2.5 million people, and most of those people get less than £60 a week, which when you deduct the average rent would leave them with about £5 to buy food. But then only 1.6 million people actually claim unemployment benefits at all in the UK.

    I could write a long essay about why there’s unemployment in the UK, but basically it’s because there aren’t enough jobs. Incidentally, in the USA the welfare programme doesn’t support people anywhere near as much as it does in the UK, and yet US unemployment’s at over 10%. Do all those people have seven kids and try to get free lunches off the government, or is it that most of them have legitimate reasons for not being able to work and so need help to not be homeless or starve?

    Or hey, here’s another thing – although the rate of unemployment benefits have steadily risen in the UK since the early nineties, the rate of long-term unemployment has steadily dropped since 1993 (not counting the recent economic crisis). So although people are being paid more money on welfare, they’re spending less time on welfare. Could it be – now open your mind real wide here – that it’s only a TINY MINORITY of people who choose to take advantage of welfare, and for most people what it represents is a way to keep their homes and stay alive until they can find their next job?

  2. Funny Bob, but if you bothered to READ the article, you’d know that neither one of the parents is disabled. One of their children has a skin disorder.

    These folks are playing the system and have no qualms about it. In fact, they’re complaining that 42K a year isn’t enough. With the exchange rate, I’m guessing here…that would be about ohh…70K US +/- . They have 8 kids and the mother wants 14…all on the” dole.” ( sorry, that wasn’t meant in a derogatory fashion)

    I don’t have anything against welfare as it was originally meant to be used…As a “hand UP”. I just get damn sick and tired of seeing these people play the system, thinking they’re “owed” something by everyone else.

  3. Oh yeah, right you are, I missed that. Same difference. Kid with serious skin disorder so one of the parents can’t work and if the other one works they’ll lose more in benefits than they’ll gain in salary.

    Either way, agreed, the world’s too fucking populated to start with, and people shouldn’t be knocking out seven kids at all, let alone seven kids they can’t afford – but that’s an indictment of this family’s weird approach to parenthood, not of the British welfare system.

    Not that this makes that much of a difference, but although £42k is around $70k, the pound buys a lot less than the dollar. Cost of living in the UK is way higher than in most of the States (except New York).

  4. According to those folks Bob, “they have nothing to be thankful for”…and, “As long as they’re going to pay me to have kids…” They live in a 4 bdr house or flat as they like to say, and want a bigger house.

    My wife and I as well as our teenage granddaughter live in a 35 foot travel trailer, have for the last 4 years. I’m not complaining because that’s the lifestyle we chose. We own our own property. We just saw the writing on the wall about the economy and decided we didn’t want to go into debt with a home loan and take a chance on losing everything. We paid everything off including our vehicles before the collapse.

  5. Hey, I’m not defending them. I think it stinks too, but like I said it speaks more of their weird attitude as people than it does of any problems with the welfare system.

    It’s good that you own your own home. I made the decision to rent instead of buying a few years ago because I figured that the housing boom would eventually tank, and I didn’t want to get into negative equity. I don’t own my home but I haven’t lost any money, which is more than I can say for a lot of my friends.

  6. I knew the real estate bust was coming, too. But I didn’t have the balls to sell and keep the money safe (Mrs. Doe was extremely against it). I also saw the market bubble bust coming in 2000, but was such newbie that I didn’t believe that I could be correct and all the pundits were wrong. Experience doesn’t come cheap.

  7. My wife had been telling me for the last five years that I needed to figure out something else to do because she could see the writing on the wall. I build and remodel for affluent people and we’ve never had a slow down before, even during the previous recessions. This last one was pretty scary, but I think we might be pulling out of it, maybe. My phone has just started ringing again. Hopefully it will be “off the hook” like it was before.

Leave a Reply

