And you wonder why conservatives believe in “the depravity of man”

Heh.

12 responses to “And you wonder why conservatives believe in “the depravity of man”

  1. And you wonder why conservatives believe in “the depravity of man”

    Well now…my thought might be that you’re very concerned about anarchists behind every tree?

    As the day of gathering [April 15th] approaches for limp limbs and soggy bags, the cry for caution and vigilance has rung out across the land.

    Beware the Anarchist[s]…
    http://www.anarkismo.net/article/16210

    Oh my…oh yes…
    Oh dear God preserve us…we pray!

  2. That is one sick SOB. And people wonder why some of us don’t go to church.

  3. The problem with churches is that anybody can attend them. If they could somehow limit attendence to only the perfect, then you and I would not be allowed to attend.

  4. p.s. Gramps, yer starting to scare me. Did Agent Orange rot yer brain?

  5. John, it’s not the church. It’s the “leaders” of the churches. Our granddaughter who lives with us, goes to church twice a week by her choice. I’m glad to take her.

    I’m just a little jaded, I guess because I’ve seen the hypocrisy in the church. Sometimes I think there’s more hypocrisy in the church than there is in congress.

    Don’t get me wrong, I strongly believe in God and his only begotten Son. I pray everyday for forgiveness of my sins. I pray for my relatives who are missionaries in Mozambique.

  6. I think Gramps is having “flashbacks” from some of that “good sh!t” they had over there in “Nam”.

  7. Actually JD, there may have been some effect on the oatmeal up there…

    I do know, it gave me two bionic, plastic lens in both of my eyes, from cataracts that hit me at about forty. That’s quite young for cataract development in someone without a familial history of that medical issue.

    For some reason; the VA doesn’t agree, thankfully they keep treating me for what are euphemistically referred to as pre-cancerous skin lesions.

    Most of my olde buds have died of cancer in one form or another, just a few from heart disease. For some reason it seemed I was always the youngest guy on the team…could never figure that out?

    Thanks for asking…?

  8. Gramps, has there been any spike in cataracts for Nam vets? My grandfather got them after being a welder for years. You weren’t a welder, were you?

    MrG, I’m jaded and I see hypocrisy, too. I gritted my teeth and went to church all the time my kids were growing up, in order to encourage them to go and get well-grounded in the Christian faith. They grew up to be wonderful people. I haven’t always enjoyed it, but I’ll keep going until I die.

    I can’t really complain about the leaders being hypocrites, since I’m so imperfect. I don’t cotton to hypocrisy, but it isn’t the only sin out there, and it certainly isn’t the worst one.

    To paraphrase what some wit said, I wouldn’t want to attend any church that would allow someone as rotten as me to attend.

  9. My bro-in-law is a Nam vet. He has problems with his eyes and has also contracted Diabetes as well. The VA finally acknowledged that Agent Orange was a contributing factor. He was pleasantly surprised when he started receiving a disability check in the mail recently.

  10. John Doe // April 11, 2010 at 11:53 am wrote: ~~ Gramps, has there been any spike in cataracts for Nam vets? My grandfather got them after being a welder for years. You weren’t a welder, were you?

    I did some gas, arc and wire, MIG in a tech class in high school…the VA says cataracts don’t qualify for D.P…Most cancers and diabetes, do DJ.

    MrG // April 11, 2010 at 10:43 am wrote: ~~ “…I’m just a little jaded, I guess because I’ve seen the hypocrisy in the church. Sometimes I think there’s more hypocrisy in the church than there is in congress. Don’t get me wrong, I strongly believe in God and his only begotten Son. I pray everyday for forgiveness of my sins…”

    I’m with MrG here…I have found most
    organized religious faiths rather self serving. My sojourn in SE Asia opened my mind with respect to a common theme of universal, ethnic, moral values and religious beliefs other than…just being Christian.

    When I returned from the Hambone the Lutheran Church, Wisconsin Synod, excommunicated my sorry, boney soldier’s arse.

    Oh well, hell…I’m right there in yer sight picture, MrG …it still warms the cockles of my cold heart to hear your bro-in-law is being compensated…

    ”My bro-in-law is a Nam vet. He has problems with his eyes and has also contracted Diabetes as well. The VA finally acknowledged that Agent Orange was a contributing factor.

    Unfortunately diabetes is also a precursor for eye problems, my dear brother has been afflicted since he was a teenager and has serious problems with his vision.

    All my very, best to you gentlemen and I do use that last, pronounloosely…or actually, NOT…!

    HOOAH..!

  11. Looks like Mickelson got it…he’s two up with just the eighteenth to go…

    Couldn’t happen to a finer gentleman and premiere golfer!

  12. Couldn’t happen to a nicer guy. He’s from my home town. Birdied the last hole for his 3rd green jacket.

Leave a Reply

