On the Gutlessness of Social Conservatives

Obligatory bathing suit pic: Carrie Prejean

Too often social conservatives are afraid to speak up and call sin “sin” when they see it. 

I presume something like this goes through their thought process, because something like this goes through mine, too:  “I don’t want to condemn pre-marital sex, or extra-marital sex, because, hell, many a few of my buddies do it, and I don’t want to alienate them.  And since I don’t want to alienate them, I can’t very well single out homosexuals for criticism.  Besides, I just want to get along with everybody.  I want linky-love from all the cool kids out there, I want to be part of the “in crowd.”  I do not want to be considered “square” (is that even a word any more?) or a religious fanatic.  Who uses the word “sin” except religious fanatics?  Besides, all the polls show that those under thirty are increasingly tolerant of homosexuality and bisexuality and any other form of immorality.  And those dudes on “Queer Eye” seem so cool!” 

“Besides, If Republicans remain the party of right and wrong, they will be condemned to be the minority party.   And damn, I hate being called a bigot and a homophobe and intolerant! And gee, it is in vogue to be a “social libertarian”–who cares if society falls apart so long as all my friends think I’m cool?   Oh, yeah, have I mentioned that I’m not perfect, either? And there is that old admonition, “Judge not, lest you also be judged…”

Whew. Have I touched on enough reasons to flee any discussion about homosexuality?  Apparently something like this is effecting the social cons out there, because most are silent when it comes to opposing the incessant onslaught by those who seek to legitimize homosexual behavior. 

If you are a social con and you have been similarly cowed into silence for these or other reasons, I have this to say:  Grow a pair.

Those same people who stress “tolerance” towards deviant sexual behavior become violently intolerant of behavior that they condemn.  Imagine those who prefer to eat dogs, or even worse, little puppies, trying to get your typical social liberal to “be tolerant” of their dietary choice. Heh. 

 Personally, I’m tired of fiscal conservatives blaming social cons for ruining the Republican party by picking fights with the homosexual lobby.  I do not buy it.  We don’t start the fights, they bring the fight to us, always and every way.  It’s just that some of us are brave enough to fight them back, to try to hold the line against their sexual deviancy.  

Try to imagine liberals being tolerant of those who club baby seals for their fur.  Liberals can’t even tolerate Republicans.  They merely use the word “intolerance” to club you into submission.  Try using the “I was born this way” excuse to justify your dislike of homosexuals and see how far that gets you with those advocates of “tolerance.”    “Tolerance” is a liberal code word for “shut up and accept the liberal conclusion of what is and is not moral and socially acceptable behavior.”

p.s. I wrote this last night while I couldn’t sleep.  Before publishing it this morning I found an excellent piece by Maggie Gallagher where she made similar points at NRO.  She posits that “The Carrie Prejean Effect” caused a shift in public opinion on gay marriage.  Basically, she believes that because one woman was brave enough to stand up to the onslaught, and the resultant attacks against her by the “tolerant” liberals created a backlash in public opinion.

You don’t have to go around preaching.  You don’t have to be perfect.  But stand up for what is right, and don’t allow liberals to cause you to be afraid to speak up.  There are many out there who believe the same thing, and your actions might give them the courage to speak up, too.  To paraphrase, All that is necessary for evil to triumph is for good men to stay silent…

Leave a Reply

