Alton Brown’s Dry-Aged Rib Roast

As many of my readers know, I am the family cook at least 50% of the time.  I love cooking (except for pastrys, candy and cookies and other crap that requires one to follow directions precisely).  

For most of my life I was too intimidated to try to cook prime rib.  One time I cooked it and it tasted like a cheap immitation of what prime rib should taste like. 

Then I discovered this prime rib recipe from Alton Brown of The Food Network.  Now we have prime rib for Christmas and other special occasions instead of the usual ham or turkey.  And prime rib, or standing rib roast, can be had for the same price as a decent steak. 

As usual, I modified the recipe a little.  I don’t always dry age it as he suggests.  My frig usually has no room.  I also do not use a terra cotta pot to cover the roast–I just use tinfoil.  The secret is in the low oven temp.  If you roast prime rib on too high a temperature it tastes much worse.  And use a meat thermometer, one that can be read from out of the oven without opening the oven to read it.  And for God’s sake don’t over cook it!  Some poor steer died so that you could cook his prime rib to perfection. 

I’ve used this recipe many times and it is impossible to screw up.  The prime rib tastes as good as any that you have ever had in a restaurant, at much less cost.  As Julia C. used to say, “Bon appetit!”

John Doe

4 responses to “Alton Brown’s Dry-Aged Rib Roast

  1. Forgot to mention that I am cooking it as we speak! Was meant for my son’s birthday but we went out on the boat all day Sunday so I could not cook it for him. His loss.

  2. Hey…nothin’ like a good medium rare Prime Rib about 2 inches thick and 10 inches around, eh? I eat it without the Aujou,(sp)? The dang juice!

    Regards, Mike

  3. Pingback: Your Saturday Linkapalooza! | The Daley Gator

Leave a Reply

