Daily Archives: December 1, 2009

Mitt Romney’s religion doesn’t disqualify him–his actions do

First, Mormans are not Christians. No ifs, ands or butts. Hey, Christians aren’t Jews.  Atheists aren’t Muslim.  Buddhists aren’t Taoists.  Deal with it. Doesn’t mean that they aren’t good people, or that their religion should disqualify them for public office.  Or that they aren’t good conservatives.  I read somewhere that supposedly 18% of Republicans claimed that they would not vote for Romney because he is a Morman.  Sounds true, even if it isn’t. But I don’t feel too badly about that: a similar large percentage of progressives and liberals would not vote for a “born again” Evangelical just because of his or her religion.  

I oppose Romney because of where he is from, and what he has done in the past.  I wouldn’t vote for a Republican Governor from Massachusetts if my life depended on it.  You know, and I know, that if he was elected there, he is a liberal.  What is his signature accomplishment? RomneyCare.  Enough said. Rather than cutting taxes and un-chaining business from governmental regulations, ala Reagan, he went the Democrat-Lite route.  Well, good for him. But he lost my vote. I don’t enjoy wafflers telling me what they think I want to hear.  Please, take your Mormanism and don’t run.

And to show I’m an equal-opportunity hater, I wouldn’t vote for Huckleby (Huckleberry? Huckster? Huckabee? I always forget.) if my life depended on it.  He is Jimmy Carter without the  nuclear submarine experience.  It appalls me how Christians flock to him because he is an ex-preacher.  (Hey I fell for that crap when Jimmy Carter ran, but I had an excuse–I was only 18 years old!)  Some of the biggest snakes I’ve ever met have supposedly been “men of God.”  He’s a populist masquerading as a conservative.  Huck, take that awww shucks praise the Lord crap back to Arkansas.  I also would never vote for any  ex-Governor of Arkansas.  Is Arkansas even a state? Take your Southern Baptist preaching ass out of the race.